Veer launch at the CPRC Birkbeck (Buck, Spott, Hazell, Jenkins)

Veer Books will be holding a launch reading on Monday, March 26th 2018, 7:30-9:00pm, at Birkbeck College, in association with the CPRC Birkbeck (note the new date).

We’ll be launching some new Veer publications, with readings by the authors:

* Paul Buck – RECOLLECTION AND MISUNDERSTANDING
* Verity Spott – We Will Bury You
* Calum Hazell – TENDS
* Haley Jenkins – Nekorb (TBC)

Venue: Keynes Library, School of Arts, 43 Gordon Square, Birkbeck College, London
Time: 7:30-9:00pm

Free and All Welcome. Wine and drinks provided.

 

Veer Launch (Ashford, Cobbing, Harvey, Terry)

Dear All – notice of the upcoming Veer Launch at Iklectik.

Veer Launch (Ashford, Cobbing, Harvey, Terry)
 
Tuesday, 7th February@ Iklictik Art Lab, Old Paradise Yard, 20 Carlisle Lane, Waterloo, London SE1 7LG, UK, 7pm.
With readings from David Ashford, launching SEDITION-MACHINES, and Philip Terry launching Bad Times.
We will also be launching the new Complete Poems by James Harvey, edited by David Miller, Keith Jebb and Antony John, who will read on the night, along with Matt Martin, and alongside recordings of James Harvey.
We will also be launching the new edition of Jennifer Pike Cobbing’s Computer Dances. As you’ll know Jennifer sadly passed away on December 11th last year, while the book was in preparation. We are very happy to be able to launch it nonetheless and to celebrate Jenny’s extraordinary work on the night. Reading and speaking on the night will be Adrian Clarke, Ulli Freer, William Rowe, Elizabeth James, cris cheek, montenegrofisher, Steve Willey and Becky Cremin.

CPRC/Veer Book Launch: Clarke, Jones, Raha, Rowe

Wednesday, 13 January 2016at 19:30–21:00,  Room 101, 30 Russell Square, Birkbeck, University of London.

Adrian Clarke, Doug Jones, Nat Raha, William Rowe are launching their new books –

The room has extensive level access and is accessible to those using a wheelchair

Allen Fisher double launch reading

Allen Fisher Double Launch @ BBK (Friday, 05 December 2014)

Reading, and double launch

The CPRC Birkbeck welcomes Allen Fisher.

Friday 5th December 2014

7:30pm, Keynes Library, School of Arts building, 43 Gordon Square, London WC1H 0PD.

Click here for a map link for Birkbeck

All welcome – free entry

Featuring the launch of two Allen Fisher Veer Books: the new editon of Defamiliarising ______________* , as well as the brand newSPUTTOR

Holly Pester – Bark Leather book review

Holly Pester, Bark Leather, Veer, £5

Holly Pester’s poetry is somewhere in the tradition of Edward Lear, Gertrude Stein, Harold Pinter, Monty Pynthon and Holly Pester.  If you’ve seen Holly Pester leather her poems you can hear her bark in lots of Holly Pester.

This book, from Veer, by Holly Pester, Bark Leather, has a cover image of, what else, but a leather-tree, barking out the word, or sound, ‘leather’ with an all scrunched up face. Bark and leather are of course almost the same things. Read any online dictionary and you will see that both come from the trees since you can peel them both off. And of course cow is as dog is: three letters long, ‘o’ in position 2 and ‘c’ comes before ‘d’. Keep thinking.

The opening poem, Digg Beff, is enough for the purposes of this review to demonstrate how good this collection had on me. If you are ready to join in then bark out loudly and quickly ‘Dig Beff, Dug Bet, Duck Break, dark bed, dit belly, drag bull. Point and flak.’

WOOF WOOF, WOOF OOWF, OOWF OOWF, FOW FOW, WOF WOF, OOF OOF. Point and flak.

until they sort of deteriorate and sort of come back up into sight again.

If you look up these string of words quoted from Digg Beff on Wikipedia or even Yahoo Answers you will find that they form an etymological chain spanning the Vikings (Dig Beff) to The Superbowl (drag bull). If you enter them into search engines such as Youtube, where glitching is strictly forbidden, it berates you when it says: ‘An error has occurred, please try again later.’ This makes you feel some bit good ‘cause the world again has fissures.

Bark Leather contains super 8 poems which will made you laugh and will made you cry. The poems are perfect for writing aloud with your friend and include tongue twisters, homophonic plumbing and oven seal shanties.

Talk proper Holly. Twice nightly. Barking.

Jade Massive